What’s on the agenda for August

Well, August is here and almost over and what I had set out to do since July and with the launch of this blog and life in general, I not even started and I promised to start, so here are they:

1. IMPROVE ON MY FOOD WRITING AND FOOD BLOGGING SKILLS AND LET THEM WORK FOR ME.

I had always love food, well chocolate really and writing, since childhood. I have spent the whole of last year, up to present researching food writing and food blogging and surfing the internet and sites of other food writers and food bloggers, even those here in Trinidad and Tobago and across the Caribbean.

Food writing, I have come to know has taken on a life of its own and has also taken many shapes, including: food memoirs and personal essays, restaurant reviews, recipe writing, food history, and can you even believe that food has a politics, all of its own; so too are profiles of chefs, farmers and food and beverage entrepreneurs, travel writing and guides, cookbook reviews and so much more.

I am trying to figure out what food writing and blogging style that I want, as I want to focus on the land of my birth, Tobago, our homegrown recipes and telling the world about this country’s culinary adventures.  I also plan to pursue some online food writing and food blogging courses.

2. RECIPE WRITING AND EVEN TRYING MY HAND AT A FEW.

Do not be alarm, or shocked, but some women and young ladies from the Caribbean hate the kitchen, I would rather be outside climbing the mango and plum trees in the backyard, or the neighbour’s orange and mango trees, or picking cherry and cashew, or go to the beach, or even lock myself away in my bedroom, rather than help out in the kitchen as a child.

The thought was too much ingredients to remember and measurements, I hated numbers, it would give me a headache; but my parents, always told me that if I wanted to get married and have a family, I would have to start cooking and taking care of the kitchen and the home; because Caribbean man love their belly and the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, for most Caribbean men. An old saying, which is true to this day, that is why I am still single.

Luckily my parents are both still alive, so I can still learn the basic stuff from my mother, who is a great and exceptional cook, and the gentleman’s way of cooking from my father, growing up with three little brothers, one sister and two step-sisters. My parents are not together, my mother is married to a retired prison officer, and they have two kids, a boy and a girl (my half-sibling), who are in their 20’s and I also have a step-sister, from my step-father first marriage, she is in her 40’s; and my folks are grandparents; no not me, my brother has two kids. My father is divorced from my stepmother, but they have two boys (my half brothers) and also I have a step-sister, my stepmother’s daughter; and they are grandparents of five, my two half brothers, have two kids each and my step sister has one. I know that I have to learn how to cook, so whenever I decide to have a family get-together, which will be big, I have to learn to cook great and no bland food for me and also how to entertain my family and friends.

I want to learn all about the land of birth local dishes and drinks, even about other islands across the Caribbean and around the world cuisines; and I have already invested in searching and purchasing as many local cookbooks as possible, visiting the library. To be honest, I have yet to get into that kitchen and start preparing meals, even for those residing in the same home as me.

3. REVAMPING MY BEDROOM

My bedroom, use to be an all girl’s room, shared by me, my stepsister and my half sister, so it is somewhat big. My stepsister, has moved away to the big sister island, Trinidad to live and work. My mother used her retirement money to build my sister her own room among other things. The room is mines, to be creative and I am planning on redecorating it to match my own style and personality.

4. TO INVEST IN A LAPTOP, IPAD AND EVEN A DIGITAL CAMERA TO START MY FREELANCE FOOD WRITING AND BLOGGING SERVICE BUSINESS.

At present, I am using an old outdated computer, that one would say that I am still living in the ice age, as it is an old computer of the 1990’s. It gives lots of troubles, and I have been meaning to throw it out. I also have an outdated laptop, that has crashed and is not working and I have to throw that one out. I am thinking along the lines of either Dell Laptop. I have an old Alcatel tablet and an Alcatel one touch cell phone, which I am using to take photos with. Even that I want to upgrade to a better IPad and an IPhone, as I plan to some way down the line to start pursing IPhone Food Photography, until I can save enough money to purchase a digital camera and lenses.

5. READ MORE OTHER THAN NOVELS

I am a sucker for romance novels, I have been reading them and even giving them as gifts to friends since high school. No, I do not actually believe that romance stories that I read in those novels will ever happen to me in real life, as the men here in Tobago and the Caribbean in general are not anyway close to the guys in the novels, or other guys in other countries around the world. Most of them, do not know how to be romantic. I enjoy reading them and also the daily newspapers and other periodicals. I want to start reading about other books and publications, such as business books, cookbooks, food writing and food blogging books, photography and others, which will help me.

6. DRINK MORE WATER

As shocking as it is, yes, I do not drink as much bottles or glass of water, as I should. Been in my 30’s, it is very dangerous, to stop drinking water. I plan to drink as much bottles of water, as I possibly can.

I have already. Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

